Sean Doran & Meghan O’Keeffe take club 10,000 titles

The final club track championship of the season, the 10,000, took place in Morton Stadium last night. The championship was incorporated into the latest round of the ever popular Clonliffe Grand Prix series. Thankfully the wind and rain which had whipped up around Santry at 7 PM had calmed considerably by the time the field lined up just before 8 PM and although it was a cold night it was perfect for 25 laps of the blue Mondo track.

And they’re off!

From the off defending men’s champion Sean Doran tore into lead, a 72 second opening lap well and truly throwing down the gauntlet, ‘catch me if you can’ was the tactic. By lap 3 Sean was already lapping some of the backmarkers and although, not unnaturally, he did slow slightly mid race he came home having lapped the entire field in an impressive 32.14. This is one of the fastest times recorded in the club 10,000 in a number of years and was the latest in maybe half a dozen wins by Sean in this race. Second-place finisher was Paul Keenan (35.01) with Niall Sherlock really going up and distance, taking 3rd place in 36.31.

Top 3 women: Meghan 1st, Clodagh 2nd, Aisling 3rd

The women’s championship saw both Meghan O’Keeffe and Clodagh Galvin making their debut over the distance on the track, and both ran excellent races as Meghan came home 1st, bettering her 10k road PB by well over a minute recording a time of 40.24. Clodagh chased her all the way home and likewise bettered her road 10k as she recorded a time of 40.53. Defending champion Aisling Andrews came home in 3rd place in 43.23.

Results of club 10,000 championship:

Place First Name Surname Time 
Sean Doran 00:32:14 
Paul Keenan 00:35:01 
Niall Sherlock 00:36:31 
Anto Doran 00:37:20 
Robert Dowling 00:37:41 
Peter Bissett 00:38:59 
Megan O’Keeffe 00:40:24 
Tom Griffin 00:40:26 
Clodagh Galvin 00:40:53 
10 Fergal O’Shea 00:41:10 
11 Steve  Barnes 00:41:31 
12 Mick Bermingham 00:41:48 
13 Aisling  Andrews 00:43:23 
14 Tom Moran 00:43:26 
15 Richie Barr 00:43:43 
16 Philip Richards 00:43:53 
17 Shane  Rooney 00:43:54 
18 Maurice McCrohan 00:43:59 
19 Tom Monks 00:44:07 
20 Mick Gleeson 00:44:33 
21 Declan Grant 00:44:36 
22 Joe  Fowler 00:45:17 
23 Diarmuid Doyle 00:45:20 
24 Carl Fleming 00:45:33 
25 Declan Murray 00:47:26 
26 David Hanley 00:47:28 
27 Dermot Breslin 00:47:38 
28 Clodagh Moriarty 00:48:01 
29 Pat Devitt 00:49:02 
30 Deirdre Fitzsimons 00:50:27 
31 Yvonne McDonagh 00:50:58 
34 Ciara O’Regan 00:52:05 
36 Shey  Byrne 00:55:05 

In the Grand Prix Ciara O’Regan took the plaudits and maximum points with Philip Richards 2nd and Declan Murray 3rd. The results of the Grand Prix are being held back at present as the excitement mounts with the Grand Prix series heading towards its climax. Next up is the club 10 mile championships for the Ahern cup in Malahide Castle grounds on Saturday October 7 at 10:30 AM

Women’s club championship presentation to Meghan O’Keeffe by Pat Bonass
Grand Prix presentation to winner Ciara O’Regan
Athlete & coach

Club Captain Noel Guiden presented the prizes in the clubhouse after the event, with Pat Bonass presenting the Bonass Cup to Meghan and the Bonass trophy to Sean Doran (in absentia).

Many thanks to all involved last night, in particular Caroline Tuite, who sponsored the Grand Prix prizes and to the race officials who no doubt slept soundly last night counting laps instead of sheep!