Sean Doran wins club xc championship

Sean Doran took the 2015 Clonliffe club cross country title today at a rain sodden Santry Demesne at noon today. The club championships were incorporated into the final round of an excellent 2015 Grand Prix Series, the Irwin Cup, over 6k. The course makers did a superb job of avoiding the cut up ground from last week`s Nationals making for a pretty good course in the circumstances.

From some 22 finishers Doran was first across the line to win the Harry Cooney Cup awarded to the club cross country champion. 2nd was Kevin Dowling and 3rd Shane Casey. In the women`s club championships 1st was Aimee Ahern, 2nd (tied) Sinead Smith/Aine McCann.

In the Irwin Cup the first three across the line were Sean Doran, Desie Shorten and Kevin Dowling. The results of the handicap are currently being held in a secret vault somewhere in the bowels of Santry not to be revealed until Thursday`s Grand Prix presentation.

Many thanks as always to the hard working race officials.