Sergiu collects National Marathon 2014 title, Ailish a bronze

Sergiu Ciobanu battled through the on course wind today to collect his third National Marathon title. With a time of 2.21.01 he ended up over a minute clear of the runner up, Rathfarnham’s Barry Minnock. His 5th place finish in the race is a highly commendable finish, especially as numerous Ethiopians and Kenyans started the race. Running for large sections of the race with former winner Aleskei Sokolov, he passed halfway in 69.22mins.

Ailish Malone picked up a hard earned bronze medal in the women’s race. Her time of 2.48.48 was a personal best and with an 82.23 first half, Ailish hung on well over the testing 2nd half and to claim an excellent national level medal.

Our next finisher was marathon man, Gary O’Hanlon. Running his 10th marathon of the year, Gary finished with a time of 2.26.13 and in 6th of the Irish.  One of the many athletes Gary coaches was next in, and could well have aided in the collection of a team medal (still to be confirmed). Anthony Flannery finished with a time of 2.52.48. Though not a personal best, this was probaby his best performance, given the conditions.

Next across the line was Joe Phipps. His great run in the half-marathon last month was no flash in the pan. Almost skipping through the last mile Joe was comfortably under the 3hr goal in a time of 2.58.55. To the delight of all, young Paddy Tuite also dipped under the 3hr barrier. Having been on the other side of this barrier a few times over the past few year, it was great to see. No doubt his timely calf strain last week kept him off this feet and fresh for those last few miles today!

Kieran Murphy was 1 mins outside of the 3hrs, but this was still 4 mins faster than his Spring effort on the fast and flat Rotterdam course.

Finishing with 3.11.19, Jacqui Dunphy’s series of personal best times continued. This was over 7 mins off her previous best time.

David Brady’s fast first half (82.46) left him struggling in the later miles as he finished in 3.09.45 and was followed in by Mark Bermingham in 3.10.10

Brendan donnelly ran 3.11.26 and Colm McDonnell posted 3.13.44, a pb of 76 secs. The recently married Denis collins ran 3.15.34, 3 and a half minutes better than last year.

James Waldron and Joe Cooper crossed the line with times of 3.27.20 and 3.31.52. The former being the second closest of our athletes to run even splits! (see below)

Ronan mcdermott ran a solid 3.31.51 and Andrew Eustace had an 8min pb at 3.31.49!!!. Alan Worrall ran his usual steady race, finishing with a 3.32.28. Anthony O’Brien, who ran berlin a few weeks ago coasted at 4.15.37. Alex Eustace left everything out on the course, finishing in 4.35.50

Finally, the great Frank Behan, the Colonel, completed his 35th Dublin Marathon in a row in 6.27.33. With a first half of 3.27hrs, and a second half of 2.59hr, Frank wins the award for being the only Clonliffe athlete to run the second half faster than the first!

A link to all our athletes times/splits is as follows:

Sergiu Ciobanu 2:21:01
Gary O’ Hanlon 2:26:13
Ailish Malone 2:48:48
Anthony Flannery 2:52:48
Joe Phipps 2:58:55
Paddy Tuite 2:59:19
Kieran Murphy 3:01:00
Ross Cadogan 3:09:13
David Brady 3:09:45
Mark Bermingham 3:10:10
Fergal Daly 3:10:32
Jacqui Dunphy 3:11:19
Brendan Donnelly 3:11:27
Colm Mc Donnell 3:13:45
Denis Collins 3:15:34
James Waldron 3:27:20
Joseph Cooper 3:31:52
Ronan Mc Dermott 3:31:51
Alan Worrall 3:32:28
Andrew Eustace 3:31:49
David Freeman 3:48:05
Seamus Greenan 3:49:32
Patrick Devitt 4:00:19
Anthony O’ Brien 4:15:37
Alex Eustace 4:35:50
David Gomm 5:55:25