Stafford fastest in Mile but Cleary takes the 20 points

On yet another windy night in the Morton Stadium Round 2 of the Grand Prix Series over 1 mile took place on Thursday the 28th of April. For the night that was in it there was a good turnout of some thirty two athletes for the race which was accordingly split into an A and B race.

As the A Race started Brendan Buck immediately hit the front closely followed by William Stafford and non competitor in the Grand Prix Series, young Paul (apologies as I don’t know his surname, but do know he is an extremely gifted runner). This lead three were closely followed by David Brennan and further back a trio of Tom Monks, Philip O’Doherty and Noel Guiden.

The lead three stretched out a gap as they hit the bell, at this stage Brendan Buck had been relegated to third place however he made a final effort to hit the front however, on the back straight William Stafford and young Paul stretched away for William to record a victory of 5:01, Paul one second in arrears, Brendan Buck held onto third position fighting off a fast finishing Philip O’Doherty from David Brennan, with another fast finisher closing fast, Adam Ahern who had ran a storming last 800.

The B Race featured twenty athletes including, bizarrely Colm Doran who had started the A Race, but DNF’d, being clearly in breach of the rules the race official’s disqualified him from the results. Up front Aidan Creaner and Declan Murray were stretching out the field, it was particularly pleasing to see Aidan back on track after a long lay off. Declan Murray, despite his iron man triathlon training and also his recent Boston Marathon still being in his legs showed that he is still a contender, grimly holding onto Aidan heading into the last lap. The surprise of the field was Jim Cleary who was storming the last 400 closing on the two early leaders.

The results showed Aidan Creaner in 1st place on 5:30, by one second from Declan Murray, by one second Jim Cleary.

The “on the road results” according to place, name and actual time were as follows:

Race A

1 William Stafford-5:02, 2 Paul (non-competitor in Series)-5:02, 3 Brendan Buck-5:06, 4 Philip O’Doherty-5:07, 5 Dave Brennan-5:08, 6 Gerry Walsh-5:11, 7Adam Ahern-5:13, 8 Noel Guiden-5:16, 9 Tom Monks-5:27, 10 Colm Hickey-5:30, 11 Martin Tully-5:33, 12 Steven Byrne-5:42, DNF Colm Doran

Race B

1 Aidan Creaner-5:30, 2 Declan Murray-5:31, 3 Jim Cleary-5:32, 4 Pat Devitt-5:39, 5 Richard Connolly-5:52, 6 Eddie Harrison-5:54, 7 Jim Bennett-5:57, 8 Pat Healy-5:59, 9 Des Lyons-6:02, 10 Shay Byrne-6:02, 11 Derek Reilly-6:04, 12 Ciaran Murphy-6:12, 13 Aimee Ahern-6:23, 14 Frank Devitt-6:26, 15 Ray McConville-6:32, 16 Michael McFadden-6:34, 17 Tony Kiernan-6:38, 18 Dave Brady-6:40, 19 Tony Westby-7:01, DNF Noel Daly, DFQ Colm Doran

When the results were fed into the computer it showed that Jim Cleary had beaten the handicapper by 36 seconds to take overall victory and the 20 points on offer towards the Grand Prix Series from Philip O’Doherty, Declan Murray, Noel Guiden, Ray McConville, Jim Bennett and Shay Byrne.

The leader board shows that for the first time Noel Guiden will wear the Series Leaders Yellow Jersey for Round 3 in the McCarrick 2½ Mile Race to take place on the grounds of Malahide Castle on the 5th of May.

Full h’cap results and leaderboard to follow.