Stephen Byrne wins Santry Demesne Mile

Thursday the 7th of July was the date and Santry Demesne was the venue for Round 7 in the 2005 Grand Prix Series – “The Santry Demesne Mile”.

Once again the weather was kind and there was a good turnout of some twenty seven athletes, made up not only of Grand Prix members, but also other club members and in particular several of Ronan Mulvaney’s juveniles.

The field was split into two races.

The A race proved most interesting as the fourteen athletes were sent on their way over the one mile loop on tarmac in the demesne. After the opening quarter mile the runners disappeared out of view and as they came back into view at the 3/4 mile mark there was a group of four led by Martin Tracey, David Brennan, young Eoin McDonnell and, not so young, Philip O’DohertyDavid Brennan and Eoin McDonnell broke away heading into the final bend however, youth prevailed with Eoin coming home the winner in 4:57 from David in 4:59 and in third place Philip O’Doherty in 5:01 with Martin Tracey on 5:02.

Further back it was particularly pleasing to see Gerry McCabe back racing again, this was actually his first race since June of 2003.

The result of the A race was:

1. Eoin O’Donnell 4:57; 2. David Brennan 4:59; 3. Philip O’Doherty 5:01; 4. Martin Tracey 5:02; 5. Jerry Walsh 5:09; 6. Martin Tully 5:10; 7. Brian Gallagher 5:15; 8. David Lyons 5:13; 9. Colm Doran 5:19; 10. Stephen Byrne 5:20; 11. Declan Moran 5:23; 12. Gerry McCabe 5:24; 13. Colm Hickey 5:33; 14. Richard Connolly 5:34.

Matters were far clearer in the B race, thirteen athletes taking to the line and as the athletes reached the 3/4 mile mark they were spread out somewhat being led out by Raheny’s David Hooper who came home first in 5:37 from Eddie Harrison, also of Raheny, in 5:40 with father and son act Brian Devitt in 5:45 with his father Pat two seconds in arrears at 5:47.

Tony Westby was first home in the over 70 class, breaking seven minutes with a superb 6:58.

Full result of the B race was:

1. David Hooper 5:37; 2. Eddie Harrison 5:40; 3. Brian Devitt 5:45; 4. Pat Devitt 5:47; 5. Ciaran Murphy 5:48; 6. Jimmy Bennett 5:53; 7. Shay Byrne 6:03; 8. Ray McConville 6:11; 9. Sean Pender 6:20; 10. Tony Kiernan 6:23; 11. Dave Brady 6:25; 12. Michael McFadden 6:33; 13. Tony Westby 6:58.

The winner of the Grand Prix, on a handicap basis, and the only man actually to beat the handicapper was Stephen Byrne –02 seconds. Stephen was presented with the Santry Demesne Mile glass trophy by the race sponsor (the writer). Prizes were also presented to second place man, Martin Tully, on +01 and Colm Doran third on +04.

The top ten in the Grand Prix were:

1. Stephen Byrne –02; 2. Martin Tully +01; 3. Colm Doran +04; 4. David Brennan +06; 5. Philip O’Doherty +07; 6. Martin Tracey +08; 7. Jim Bennett +09; 8. David Brady +10; 9. Tony Kiernan +11; 10. Jerry Walsh +13.

Spot prizes were presented to the three athletes who came closest to predicting their actual time, Ray McConville, Pat Devitt and Brian Devitt.

The battle for yellow continues (full update on yellow jersey positions to follow) with Round 8 incorporating the club 5000M championship next Thursday the 14th of July. The Grand Prix event – The Wine 5K – is sponsored by Dave Brennan.