Super Sunday XC C’Ships for Juveniles

On Sunday last, November 28, the juvenile captain and her dedicated bunch of coaches put together a superb mornings cross country competition for the Clonliffe juvenile athletes. A fresh crisp morning greeted the young athletes for the 2021 Clonliffe juvenile club cross country championships with a nice 600 M loop laid out in the beautiful parkland of Santry Demsens where Clonliffe athletes have running for some 65 years or thereabouts, going right back to when the club first came to Santry back in 1955. As always there was enthusiastic group of athletes taking part supported by an equally enthusiastic group of supporters, parents and other family members. The morning’s races were ran off in the usual efficient manner by Gladys and her team with some great competition and gritty performances by the athletes in each race and throughout the whole field with the young Harriers giving it their all. Whilst not necessarily wanting to single out young athletes on their excellent runs there were some notable highlights well worthy of a mention including Shane McDermott in the boys U/11 & 12 race and Rebecca Walsh in the U/15 girls. Once the races were finished all trooped back into Morton Stadium for the presentation of championship medals to the top three in each race:

U/9 &10 1st Faith Hanlon, 2nd Ava Fagan, 3rd Charlotte Grimes.

U/11 & 12 1st Stella Treveno, 2nd Lucy McFetteridge, 3rd Sophie O’Connor.

U/9 & 10 1st Issac O’Neill, 2nd Rahinn Byrne, 3rd Dara Cronin

U/11&12 1st Shane McDermott, 2nd Noah Davis, 3rd Connell Farrell

U/13 & 14 1st Sophie Kiernan, 2nd Sandie Rose Kivlehan, 3rd Sophie Rattigan

U/14,15 Mixed 1st boy: Sean Scanlon, 1st girl Rebecca Walsh, 2nd girl Ava Usanova.

Well done to all the athletes who took part in the event, thanks also to their parents and a huge thank you to Gladys and her team of coaches not only for the day but for the fantastic work they have put in throughout the course of 2021. Next up for the group is the juvenile Christmas cake races which will take place in Morton Stadium on Tuesday, December 14.