Teams named for Sunday`s National Cross Country

The Club Captains this evening released details of the four Clonliffe teams that will challenge for honours in the Nationals in Tullamore on Sunday afternoon. There are stong teams entered in all four races and it is expected that all four will be challenging for medals.

Confirmed for the senior women is European Cross Country team gold medal winner Sara McCormack. On Sara`s last visit home she placed 3rd in the National Inter Counties and will be expected to be well in the hunt on Sunday. Also confirmed are Ailish Malone, Ailish has raced sparingly since her excellent marathon debut in Dublin but warmed up with a BHAA win on Saturday, and Eleanor Alexander who was setting pbs for fun all Summer on the track.

The senior women`s team is: Sara McCormack, Ailish Malone, Eleanor Alexander, Emma Cooper, Fionnula Doherty and Marie Byrne.

Joe Cooper has confirmed that the defending men`s team have been boosted by the news that Olympians Mark Kenneally and Alistair Cragg are both named for Sunday. Also due home from the US is National 3,000 sc champion Dave Flynn, plus the ever dependable Sergiu Ciobanu and Gary O`Hanlon.

The full senior men`s team is: Sergiu Ciobanu, Gary O`Hanlon, Mark Kenneally, Alistair Cragg, Brian McMahon, Dave Flynn, John Henegan, Ernie Ramsey, Michael McDiarmada and Colm Rooney.

The Junior men will also be there or there abouts with athletes of the caliber of Aaron Hanlon and Ian Guiden leading the squad, along with the promising up and coming crop of youngsters Cathal Doyle, Brian Flanagan and Ross Kearney. The team is: Liam Ashton, Ian Guiden, Eoin McCullough, Aaron Hanlon, Brian Flanagan, Ross Kearney, Niall Norman and Cathal Doyle.

Finally a youthful women`s junior team will give it at really good go. Seasoned campaigner Roisin Leahy will be joined on the start line by Greta Stemkieyta, Stephanie McCaul, Hope Saunders, Laura Tuite and Sally Aherne.

The venue for Sunday`s Nationals is Charleville Estate, Tullamore just up the road from Tullamore Harriers. The timetable is:

1.00pm Junior Women  4,000m (2 x 2,000m laps)

1.30pm Junior Men        6,000m  (3 x 2,000m)

2.00pm Senior women   8,000m (4 x 2000m)

2.30pm Senior Men        12,000m (6 X 2000m)

The teams travel by coach from the Stadium on Sunday leaving at 10.00am sharp. Supporters most welcome.