The Clonliffe Silverados

Laura Tuite Reports: St.Anne’s Park, Raheny was bustling with eager athletes all participating in the Dublin Master cross country championships. It was a cold crisp day with a slight headwind, underfoot in the open fields was pretty soft after recent rain this week, but the trails through the trees were dry but technically challenging, making it an interesting 1500 loop.

We had three teams of Clonliffe ladies competing in the masters women 3000m which contained over 200 athletes ranging from over 35’s to over 70’s. Captain Jenny Johnston lead the Clonliffe ladies home with a great finish in 13th place followed closely by Ailish Malone in 14th and Ciara Peelo in 15th. A great sprint down the home straight by Siobhan Devaney finishing in 19th place secured the ladies Silver W35 team medal. W50 silver was also secured as a result of great performances from Aimee Ahern, Edel Maguire, Aine McCann and Anne Lyons.

Individually Ailish Malone won Bronze W35 category and Edel Maguire won gold in the W60 category.

Overall Clonliffe ladies had a great day out with everyone looking forward to upcoming season of racing.

Results Clonliffe Master Women:

13Jenny JOHNSTON00:12:5339F35Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
14Ailish MALONE00:12:5942F40Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
15Ciara PEELO00:13:0454F40Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
19Siobhan DEVANEY00:13:1536F40Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
26Maura MATTHEWS00:13:3043F45Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
39Elaine MCLOUGHLIN00:13:5347F40Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
47Joyce O’HARE00:14:0450F35Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
48Vanessa FENTON00:14:0638F45Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
49Aoife O’SULLIVAN00:14:0853F40Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
59Clodagh MORIARTY00:14:1648F40Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
60Marie JOYCE00:14:1840F40Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
62Aimee AHERN00:14:2356F50Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
65Edel MAGUIRE00:14:2760F60Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
66Mary KETTERER00:14:2741F45Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
96Aideen O’CONNOR00:14:5349F40Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
111Orla DEIGHAN00:15:0835F45Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
113Melissa CURRAN00:15:1134F40Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
136Aine MCCANN00:15:3761F50Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
138Yvonne MCDONOUGH00:15:4046F45Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
141Siobhan MCCARTHY GARGAN00:15:4145F45Clonliffe Harriers A.C.

146Michelle WATERS00:15:4555F35Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
148Brid BEAUSANG00:15:4733F45Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
150Karen MCAFFEE00:15:5144F40Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
154Anne LYONS00:15:5659F55Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
161Susan KELLY00:16:1158F55Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
162Allison O’SULLIVAN00:16:1352F45Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
185Ciara O’REGAN00:17:1851F40Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
186Evelyn BRENNAN00:17:2657F50Clonliffe Harriers A.C.

The Clonliffe master men were also out in force, once again a very big field in the men’s race which took place straight after the women’s race, the ground now nicely churned up. Tudor Moldovan led the Clonliffe men home in second place behind Raheny’s Mick Clohisey. The M35 team unfortunately finished just outside of the medals placing fourth with a team of Tudor, Tom Sherlock, Niall Sherlock and Ger Clerkin. The M50 team placed seventh overall with Philip O’Doherty picking up individual silver in the M60 category whilst team bronze was picked up by the M65 trio of Declan Murray, George Maybury and Pat Devitt.

Men’s results:

2Tudor MOLDOVAN00:21:00309M35Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
7Thomas SHERLOCK00:21:43311M35Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
33Niall SHERLOCK00:23:06312M35Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
39Ger CLARKIN00:23:27302M40Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
40John DONLON00:23:28303M40Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
53Anthony DORAN00:23:49304M35Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
70James DUNNE00:24:21305M40Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
77Ray DUNNE00:24:35306M35Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
80Philip O’DOHERTY00:24:40325M60Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
85Stephen HARKNESS00:24:44307M35Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
108Mick MCMAHON00:25:27308M40Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
110Kevin DOWLING00:25:30318M55Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
124Shane CASEY00:25:47301M40Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
130Stephen TRACEY00:25:53313M45Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
138Steve BARNES00:26:09298M45Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
165Mick BIRMINGHAM00:26:41300M45Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
174Murray AHERN00:26:55297M45Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
198Mick GLEESON00:27:39299M45Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
199Alan HUGHES00:27:41321M60Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
205Declan GRANT00:28:01327M50Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
214Tom MONKS00:28:29324M60Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
236Colm MCDONNELL00:29:14323M50Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
244Richie BARR00:29:37315M50Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
245Alan WORRALL00:29:38326M50Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
254Trevor WISDOM00:29:48314M45Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
257Niall MARKEY00:29:57322M55Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
272Dave HANLEY00:30:33320M50Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
282Peter CAHILL00:32:47316M50Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
285Colm DORAN00:37:59317M60Clonliffe Harriers A.C.

Master M65

7Declan MURRAY00:14:46331M65Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
12Pat DEVITT00:15:31329M70Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
18George MAYBURY00:16:08330M65Clonliffe Harriers A.C.
22Pat BONASS00:18:15328M75Clonliffe Harriers A.C.

In the battle for best overall club for the Pat Hooper cup Raheny took the honours with a total of 48 points with Clonliffe breathing down their necks on 43 points and Sportsworld 3rd on 39.