Tom Sherlock wins Clonliffe 800 Championship

The club 800 Championships took place in conjunction with the latest round of the ever popular Grand Prix Series in a warm and sultry Morton Stadium last night. Once again a great turn out meaning multiple races across the spectrum. The A race as expected turned out to be the men`s 2015 Championship decider as Tom Sherlock battled it out with young pretenders Niall Norman, Matthew Jenkinson and top race walker Greg Hossenny. On the back straight for the last time young Jenkinson took up the running however was overhauled with 200 to go, also at this stage Greg was cut adrift as Niall Norman went a fraction too early playing into the hands of the Wiley Fox Sherlock. 50m to go and it`s all over: the 2015 Champion is Tom Sherlock (2.04.75).

The women`s champion came from race no. 3 and fittingly with a win as Geraldine Reilly lead the mixed race on a merry dance to take a fine win in a fraction under 2.30. (2.29.9), 2nd Louise Carragher, 3rd Aisling Andrews The was a win also for young Amy Connolly, taking an exam break, in race no. 4.

The Grand Prix winner was Mandy McMenamy, with Sinead Duffy in second and Clare Scally in third place.

800 club c`ships

(2015 Champion: Tom Sherlock wins from Niall Norman)

Post race another fine turn out for the presentation in the club house, and more great refreshments from the one and only Caroline Tuite. Thanks to all on the night and in particular Grand Prix 800 sponsor Richie Barr. Next up is the Michael Murphy Memorial 5 Mile in Malahide Castle Thursday next 8.00pm

Thomas Sherlock 00:02:05
Niall Norman 00:02:05
Greg Hosseny 00:02:07
Sean Doran 00:02:09
Dermot Kelly 00:02:09
Matt Jenkinson 00:02:09
Ray Dunne 00:02:16
Adrian (guest) 00:02:16
Fergal O’Shea 00:02:17
Philip O’Doherty 00:02:17
Shane Casey 00:02:29
Geraldine Keogh 00:02:30
Noel Daly 00:02:31
Richie Barr 00:02:32
Brian McCann 00:02:32
John O’Leary 00:02:33
Louise Caraher 00:02:33
Aiden Burke 00:02:34
George Maybury 00:02:35
Alan Worrall 00:02:36
Ashling Andrews 00:02:39
Eugene McCarrick 00:02:39
Tom Monks 00:02:40
Niall Markey 00:02:41
Amy Connolly 00:02:42
Simon Smith 00:02:44
Emma Dunne 00:02:45
Declan Murray 00:02:45
Sinead Duffy 00:02:47
Tara Wallnua 00:02:47
Mary Harte 00:02:49
Marwala Ali 00:02:50
Gen Carpenter 00:02:50
Catherine Demspey 00:02:51
Aimee Ahern 00:02:52
Emer Brennan 00:02:52
Karen Kinsella 00:02:53
Terry  Mee 00:02:55
Sinead Smith 00:02:56
Aine McCann 00:02:57
Anna Kavanagh 00:02:59
Deirdre Fitzsimons 00:03:00
Amanda McMenamy 00:03:01
Lorraine Sherwood 00:03:02
Pat Healy 00:03:03
Conor Jennings 00:03:06
Crevan O’Malley 00:03:07
Francis Logue 00:03:09
Karen Russell 00:03:11
Mary Purdue-Smyth 00:03:12
Declan Hetherington 00:03:13
Ciara Daly 00:03:17
Clare Scally 00:03:20
Jennifer Lyons 00:03:28
Rebecca Kelly 00:03:58
Dave Brady Raheny 00:04:00
Tom Flood 00:04:10