Treacy back on track – McConville in maiden victory

There was a switch in the programme of events for the Grand Prix resulting in the 3000M, which was most generously sponsored by Shay Byrne, taking place in Santry Stadium on the 19th of May.

It was one of the better nights, weather wise, to date in this years Series, although there was a slight head wind blowing down the home straight it was an awful lot kinder than in recent races and thankfully the threat of rain held off until well after the athletes sat in the comfort of the Clonliffe Bar.

As the field of 23 runners were sent on their way David Brennan and Martin Treacy, running his first track race for some two and a half years, immediately took the lead, closely followed by Jeremy Walsh, Maurice McCrohan and Noel Guiden, with Adam Ahern tucking in behind.

Slightly further back there was a good battle developing between Colm Doran, Stephen Byrne and Aidan Creanor.

Half way through the lead two upped the pace to pull away from the field with Martin Treacy taking victory in 9:55, with David Brennan eight seconds in arrears.

In the battle for third Adam Ahern used his finishing speed to pull away finishing in 10:17 from Maurice McCrohan in fourth.

Other interesting battles had Colm Doran finishing in 10:52 from Aidan Creaner two seconds in arrears, with Stephen Byrne a further two seconds in arrears.

Ciaran Murphy prevailed by a similar margin over Richard Connolly.

The handicap result was most intriguing revealing that Ray McConville took his first ever race victory by one second from Ciaran Murphy with Richard Connolly in third place.

The prizes for the night were presented by race sponsor, Shay Byrne along with Race Director Pat Healy.

The leader in the battle for overall victory in the Grand Prix Series, Shay Byrne, retains his yellow jersey, that’s the first time this season that the yellow has been retained however he has a slim two point margin over Colm Hickey with Richard Connolly ominously in third place a further half point in arrears.

The result of the top ten in the 3000M were:

1. Martin Treacy – 9:55
2. David Brennan – 10:03
3. Adam Ahern – 10:17
4. Maurice McCrohan – 10:20
5. Noel Guiden – 10:23
6. Gerry Walsh – 10:34
7. Colm Hickey – 10:44
8. Colm Doran – 10:52
9. Aidan Creaner – 10:54
10. Stephen Byrne – 10:56.

In the handicap the top six were:
1. Ray McConville –28 Secs
2. Ciaran Murphy –27
3. Richard Connolly –19
4. Maurice McCrohan –15
5. Michael McFadden –03
6. Martin Treacy –02.

Full results to follow.

For the next round of the Series we move back to Malahide Castle for one of the highlights of the year, the Michael Murphy Memorial 5 Mile Race with the date to be confirmed however can be pencilled in for the 16th of June.