U/19s take National Gold, U/17s Bronze

The National Juvenile (uneven ages) and Novice cross country championships took place in Waterford IT today. To say it was a tough course is an understatement…it was brutal. The course started uphill and then turned sharply into a steep hill that would have a cart horse breathless, a bit of respite then for 100m before a 500m long long uphill drag. Oh and there was ankle deep mud.

Despite all of this the Clonliffe teams put in magnificent brave performances, from young Jonathan Fitzsimons, the sole U/13 Harrier in 83rd place, right through the U/17s and then the golden boys, the U/19s.

The U/17s put in a spirited fight, despite loosing illness victim Daragh Carter in the days leading up, lead brilliantly by Aaron Cullen 11th, Daniel Stone 16th, Ben Guiden 25th, and Ian McAweeney, who hit the ground hard 100m from home, but still took 58th and Dermot Buckley 100th. The team took an excellent bronze in an unbelievably tight finish: KCH 108 points, St. Malachys 109 and Clonliffe 110! (Aaron and Ben both picked up inter county gold for Dublin)

The U/19s completely justified their favourites tag by destroying the opposition. Winning by an extraordinary 77 points: 44 to 121! Eferon Gidey continues to impress with a great race placing 2nd, Sean O`Leary holding his 5th place over the final 400 and then Craig Giles with the most gutsy run by an 800 specialist and Daniel Lacey taking 2 places in the final 100. (All four also scored on the Dublin inter county team taking gold) These four were backed up well by Stephen Cashin 38th and Jordan Byrne 41st.

Thus the club juvenile season came to a conclusion: boys U/17 bronze (2 points off gold), U/18 gold and U/19 gold….the future looks bright!

On then to the novice championships where full teams were fielded. The women`s team placing 12th: 65th Siobhan Deveney, 72nd Maura Matthews, 75th Claire Roche, 89th Yvonne McDonagh, 103rd Aisling Andrews. The men were lead home by Adam O`Brien in 20th, Adam picking up inter county gold for Dublin, then: 81st Michael Cassidy, 98th Patrick Hayes, 110th Sean Doran, 144th Alex Gibbons, 153rd Greg Hosseny, 186th Dave O`Regan.

To see photos click here