Brilliant National Indoors for Clonliffe

Sunday and day 2 of the national indoor championships brought notable successes for Clonliffe athletes. Eoin Pierce had a brilliant day capturing the 1500 national title, a title which he won back in 2019, having run a tactically astute race, staying out of trouble and always up at the sharp end of the field. Piercy made the decisive move at the bell and drove on to take national gold in a time of 3.54.28.

Then in the day’s final event an outstanding performance by the 4 x 200 men’s team saw the 2nd gold of the championships delivered, this time in a championship record, a National Club Record and obviously a new club record, of 1.27.49. The team beating the winning time of heat 1 by more than 2 seconds. Marcus Lawler blasted into the lead from the blocks, passing on to Chris Sibanda who ran his leg like a true 200 veteran, onto Aaron Tierney Smith who showed no ill effects from his 400 final an hour earlier, and then onto the youngster of the squad Craig Duffy to finish the job.

The women’s 4 x 200 relay team of Leah Bergin, Lauren Carr, Anna Heavey and Clodagh Dunbar also had an outstanding day, they finished 2nd in heat 1 in a time of 1.43.81 and had the agonising wait until heat 2 concluded with the team finishing 3rd fastest and winning national bronze.

Rolus Olusa had an interesting afternoon to say the least. A snapped pole in the warmup saw him have to pay a visit to the medical unit to tend to a cut hand but despite this he put in a great competition recording a new PB of 4.55m as he won bronze.

In the 60m heats Chris Sibanda ran a 6.76 PB to win his heat, Leo Morgan in his heat ran 6.92 for 2nd and Craig Duffy a PB of 7.04 for 3rd, all three progressing into the semifinals. Eamonn Fahey in his heat ran 7.28, Pascal Touche also 7.28, Kenji Miyauchi 7.35 and Michael Deady 7.56. In the semifinals Chris Sibanda finished 1st in his semi in a time of 6.76, equalling his PB set earlier in the day, Leo Morgan also qualified for the final running 6.81 and Craig Duffy, although not progressing to the final, bettered his PB as he went 7.02. In the final Chris Sibanda finished 4th in a new club record of 6.73, Leo Morgan was 8th (6.83). Race winner was Israel Olatunde (UCD AC) in a new Irish record of 6.57.

Leah Bergin completed her first senior final in the 400 finishing 6th in 56.07. 6th place also in the 400 final for Aaron Tierney Smith (51.38). Simon Galligan went in the WFD finishing 5th with a 5.22m best.

So in all an excellent national championships for the track and field team, two golds, one silver, two bronze, one National club record and three club records.

National 1500 Champion Eoin Pierce
President Paddy Marley and Piercy
4 x 200 Bronze: Clodagh, Leah, Lauren, Anna
Chris Sibanda Club 60 record 6.73
Clonliffe Nationals 4 x 200 Indoor champions