Clonliffe club cross country c`ships 2016

Another beautiful Autumnal day in Santry Demesne greeted the young Clonliffe athletes for today`s club championships. As has now become the norm underfoot conditions in the park were just perfect, as the ground showed not a trace of last Sunday`s Dublin Cross Country.

The championships were very well supported by the athletes from each of the juvenile groups with keen competition in every race as all looked to the coveted reward of being a Clonliffe club champion. The younger ages raced over 500m and the distances then increased to the 3000m enjoyed by the U/16s and 18s as the championships drew to a close well before conclusion of the allocated hour.

Results of 2016 Club Championships:

U/10 Girls: 1st Ava Usaova, 2nd Sarah McDonald, 3rd Grace Fitzgerald

U/10 Boys: 1st Harry Carroll, 2nd Jack McDonald, 3rd Leo Moriarty

U/12 Girls: 1st Ruby Conroy, 2nd Isabel Browne, 3rd Ava Guy

U/12 Boys: 1st Jonathan Fitzsimons, 2nd Cian O`Hara, 3rd Christian Finn

U/14 Girls: 1st Emma McDonald, 2nd Katie Halpin, 3rd Aoife Hession

U/14 boys: 1st Keith Burke, 2nd Jonas Nyberg, 3rd Conor O`Shea

U/16 Girls: 1st Ella  Brown, 2nd Aimee Warren, 3rd Abbey Sheehy

U/16 Boys: 1st Daragh Carter, 2nd Dermot Buckley, 3rd Sam Kowalczyk

U/18 Girls: 1st Hannah Browne, 2nd Kate Howlett, 3rd Lauren Cox

U/18 Boys: 1st Daniel Lacey, 2nd Cian Bolger, 3rd Jordan Byrne.

For photos from juvenile c`ship click:

Following the juvenile programme the senior championships took place in conjunction with the Horan Cup over 6 miles. After a fairly gruelling race Sean Doran was the 2016 champion successfully defending the title he claimed last year from runner up Tom Sherlock and Shane Casey 3rd. The women`s championship was over 3 miles and was won by Kerri Page, 2nd Maura Matthews 3rd Ciara Peelo. (Report on the Horan Cup/Grand Prix race posted later)