Clonliffe Harriers AC the 2016 Performance club of the year

At today`s Irish Life Health Athletics Ireland Awards lunch in the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Northwood, Santry Clonliffe Harriers AC was recognised for the performances of the clubs athletes in 2016 by being named as the prestigious Athletics Performance club of the year for the second year in succession.

The senior men had enjoyed a stellar season from late 2015 to 2016 with the senior men winning the national senior cross country in Santry in November 2015, in February winning the national indoor league and then repeating the winning of the national outdoor league in August. Equally on the road the men’s team showed similar domination with the men winning the national marathon championship and also winning the national half marathon championship. The Junior men were national cross country champions in the year, and the womens team were 2nd in the indoor league.

Individually Sergiu Ciobanu was the national marathon champion, Brian Gregan the national 400 metre champion and Rory Gunning the national javelin champion and Brian MacMahon the national half marathon champion.

At the awards lunch the club was represented by club president Paddy Marley, club secretary Noel Guiden, club captain Joe Cooper, juvenile captain Gladys Cooper, committee members Caroline Tuite, Noreen Keane, Paddy Tuite, Maurice Ahern and John O’Leary. Also in attendance was Helen Flynn of Hireco, our most generous club sponsor and representing the club coaches were Bart Rogers, John Shields and Mick Fogarty with the clubs athletes being represented by Brian Gregan, Rory Gunning, Ian Guiden, Cathal Doyle and the juniors being represented by Greg Hossenny.

chac-club-of-the-year club-of-the-year-16 club-of-the-year-2016 joe