Updated Easter round up (including Nolan the Leinster 10 Champion)

Thursday the 28th: Streets of Kilkenny 5K, a small group of Clonliffe athletes travelled to this race. Sean Cronin in 5th place was the first Clonliffe athlete in a time of 14.52. The race was won by DCH’s Pierre Murchan in a new course record of 14.04. Other Clonliffe – Jack Maughan 15.27, Tom Breslin 15.57, Julie Larkin 18.55, Sarah Hawkshaw 19.47.

Jack Woods and Cian Murray

Friday, the 29th the Morton Stadium the DCU Dublin University Games took place, Cian Murray ran a PB of 9.33 over 3000, a PB also in that race for Jack Woods (9.37). In the women’s 150 Molly Haslam was 2nd 19.54 and there was a fine win in the 1000m for Oren Kenny (2.45.25).

Also on Friday the annual NaFinanna 5k took place in Glasnevin where John Donlon led the field home again taking 1st place in 17:29, also 7th Ibrahim Umar 19:28, 14th Sam Steenson 20:30 (Juv), 16th Seamus Phelan 20:44 (Juv), 32 Mick Bermingham 21:50

Saturday, the 30th. In county Kerry at Ballybunion Running Festival Sorcha O’Connor took 1st place overall in the 5K in 19.40.

Also, on Saturday, new Clonliffe Harrier Abdi Ali Maow ran a course record of 15.52 in the Dodder Valley Parkrun in Tallaght, bettering his own course record by all of 24 seconds set last summer!

Karl Nolan, Leinster Champion

Monday, April 1st, Karl Nolan is the Leinster 10 mile champion having won the Raheny Battle of Clontarf 10 Mile, this morning in a time of 54.16, Karl also Leinster M35 gold. Ger Clerkin took Leinster M40 gold, Pat Devitt M70 bronze and Orla Deignan won W50 Leinster gold On the team front there was more success for Clonliffe with the M35 team of Karl, Ger Clerkin and Stephen Lyons winning Leinster gold, the W50 team of Orla Deignan, Anne Lyons and Yvonne McDonagh took Leinster silver and the M 50 team of Alan Worrall, Diarmuid Doyle and Niall Markey taking bronze.

There was a good turnout of Clonliffe athletes in the race – full results:

1 Karl NOLAN 54:16, 8 Gerard CLERKIN 57:39, 39 Stephen RYAN 1:04:01, 32 David COMISKEY01:13:49, 133 Mary KETTERER 01:13:44, 136 Alan WORRALL 01:14:26, 154 Gerald WALSH 01:15:34, 169 Maurice MCROHAN 172, Diarmuid DOYLE 01:17:54, 183 Orla DEIGHAN 01:19:04, 186 Anne LYONS 01:19:58, 214 Niall MARKEY 01:21:56, 240 Pat DEVITT 01:25:17, 242 Yvonne MCDONOUGH 01:25:25