Juvenile inter club Spring Series gets off to a sparkling start

Spring was not in the air in Santry this morning…..Summer was! And on the 25th of March. A simply magnificent morning in the Morton stadium greeted our guests from Lusk AC, Raheny Shamrocks and Skerries AC for the first round of our, now, annual Juvenile Spring Series. The turn out was brilliant, both Skerries and Lusk bringing huge numbers of athletes with them, with a great turn out also from Clonliffe. Between the ten races on offer packed into a 60 minute programme maybe 200 plus athletes enjoyed their first track races of 2012.

From a Clonliffe point of view it is pleasing to report than Clonliffe athletes won 7 out of 10, with excellent performances all round. Highlights included the finish of the day in the girls U/11 600m as Hope Symola held off her Clonliffe team mate Sol O`Lideadha, by a mergin of a cm, Ruth Bergin cruising to victory in the girls U/13 800m and an excellent first ever win by Laura Tuite in the girls U/17 1500m. In the boys races, a great win by Fintan McManus in the U/13 800, a run away win by David O`Hanlon in the U/15 1500, a great run from Greg Hennessy in that race also and the gutsy performer of the day Jamie Keatley finishing 3rd in the u/17 1500.


U/9 300m


1. Alex Toomey (Clonliffe)

2. Molloy Swords (Clonliffe)

3. Georgina Byrne (Skerries)


1. Lorcan Devine (Skerries)

2. Ciaran O`Leary (Clonliffe)

3. Paul Byrne (Skerries)

U/11 600m


1. Hope Symola (Clonliffe)

2. Sol O`Lideadha (Clonliffe)

3. Amy Hodson (Clonliffe)


1. Conor Gleeson (Lusk)

2. Gavin O`Brien (Clonliffe)

3. Kyle Nagle (Lusk)

U/13 800m


1. Ruth Bergin (Clonliffe)

2. Sarah Whelan (Skerries)

3. Lauren Carr (Clonliffe)


1. Fintan McManus (clonliffe)

2. David Tuite (Clonliffe)

3. David Preston (Clonliffe)

U/15 1500m


1.Isabel Carron (Skerries)

2. Alannah Cooley (Clonliffe)

3. Eirne Devine (Skerries)


1. David O`Hanlon (Clonliffe)

2. Sean Carrig (Clonliffe)

3. Alex Gibbons (Clonliffe)

U/17 1500m


1. Laura Tuite (Clonliffe)

2. Aine McCarthy (Skerries)

3. Sally Aherne (Clonliffe)


1. Brian Flanagan (Clonliffe)

2. Daniel Kelly (Skerries)

3. Jamie Keatley (Clonliffe)

Thanks to all the Clonliffe people who helped out, Gladys and her team, our MC Joe and a big thank you to Colm Doran, who once again sponsored the goodies for all the athletes.