Raheny take national road relay

Apr 20, 2009 [Noel Guiden ] At the National Road Relay Championships held in Raheny yesterday, Raheny Shamrocks lived up to their billing as hot favourites for the Men’s title and when their impressive quartet of Mark Kirwan, Kevin Moriarty, Vinnie Mulvey and Richie Corrigan ran the opposition into the ground. They were worthy champions winning the National Road Relay 2009 Title in a new course record. Congratulations to our northside neighbours.

From a Clonliffe perspective there were a number of very good performances from the weakened A Team. Conor Healy in particular over the mile leg ran very strongly and Brian McMahon ran a very solid three mile leg. The A squad of Brett Paine, Conor Healy, Brian McMahon and Eoin Pearse finished in 6th place in a time of 39.05 with Brett Paine running 9.52 for his 2 Mile leg (splits 4.46 and 5.06), Conor Healy running 4.30 for his 1 Mile leg. Brian McMahon ran 15.02 for his 3 Mile leg (4.51, 5.06 and 5.05 splits) and Eoin Pearse ran 9.41 (4.47 and 4.54).

The B Team: Jamie Rossiter 10.41 for his 2 Mile leg (5.13 and 5.28), Declan Moran 5.10 for his mile, Michael MacDiarmada 15.29 (5.04, 5.12 and 5.13) and Jeremy Walsh ran 11.04 (5.28 and 5.36).

The C Team ran 44.47, Brian Gallagher running 11.05 for his 2 Mile leg (5.17 and 5.38), Colm Groom ran 5.05 for his leg, Ernie Ramsey 17.10 for his 3 Mile leg (5.21, 5.50 and 5.59) and Larry Brady ran 11.27 (5.28 and 5.59).

The top three were Raheny Shamrocks, Tallaght A.C. and Crusaders A.C.

Becky Woods got the Senior Women’s Team off to a flyer running a very fast first leg passing over in second place to Frances Nic Reamoinn. Frances, however, found herself up against the likes of Fionnuala Britton, Pauline Curley and Linda Byrne, in her first race for some considerable time and slipped off the pace slightly on the second lap passing on then to Louise Reilly who brought the team home in a mid-field position.

Becky Woods ran 5.17 for her 1 Mile leg, Frances Nic Reamoinn ran 11.35 (5.38 and 5.57) and Louise Reilly ran 5.21. The B Team ran 23.44, Eleanor Alexandra 5.33, Ailish McDermott 12.11 (6.00 and 6.11) and Joyce O’Hare ran 6 minutes.

The winners of the Women’s Senior relay were DSD also in a course record.

The Masters Men’s Team of Phillip O’Doherty, Tom Monks and Dave Dunwoody finished well down the field. Phillip O’Doherty had a particularly strong run in the mile leg running a very impressive 4.56. The Masters Men’s Race was won by Tallaght A.C.

The Masters Women’s Team of Karen Duggan, Mags Greenan and Brigid O’Sullivan finished well down: Karen Duggan 5.54, Mags Greenan 12.40 for 2 Miles (6.09 and 6.31 splits) and Brigid O’Sullivan 7.01 – combined total of 25.35. The winning team were Raheny in somewhat controversial circumstances.

Well done to Raheny on their winning of the Men’s Title for the first time since 2004 and also on their hosting of the Championships for the 9th year.