World Class Field assembled for Wednesday’s Morton Mile

The start lists for next Wednesday’s Morton Memorial Mile which is the centrepiece of the Morton Pre-Games has been released. It is a world class field which includes no less than fourteen sub four minute milers. The 32 year old stadium record of Steve Scott (USA) of 3.53.80 set on the 27th of August 1980 looks to be under serious attack.

The field boasts three men with faster PB’s than Scott’s record led by Ayanleh Souleiman (DIJ) who having set a PB of 3.50.21 in only the last few weeks is clearly in a rich vein of form before he heads to London for the Olympic games. US athlete David Torrence is next fastest with a PB of 3.52.01 with Australian Ryan Gregson, winner of the Mile in the Cork City Sports clocking in at 3.52.24.

The Irish challenge is led by Ciaran O’Lionaird who gets in his last race prior to the London Games with young Paul Robinson also expected to challenge, the Irish entry is completed by John Coghlan, now of course a sub four minute miler and looking to go sub four outdoors for the first time on Wednesday, John Travers of Donore Harriers and Rory Chesser of Ennis Track Club.

Two men to watch out for will be Garrett Heath (USA) with a mile PB of 3.55.24 who placed third in the prestigious Wanamaker Mile in New York this year and Kenyan athlete Silas Kisorio who was 4th in that mile and has been in fine form on the US circuit. Kisorio is coached by Mark Thompson who won the Morton Mile in 2009. 2010 Morton Mile champion Will Leer is also back in the Morton Stadium, unfortunately last year’s champion Jordan McNamara has been a late withdrawal through injury.

The start lists for Wednesday’s Morton Mile with their PBs and SBs is as follows:

Ayanleh Souleiman (DIJ) 3.5.21 SB 3.50.21

David Torrence (USA) 3.50.01 SB 3.52.01

Ryan Gregson (AUS) 3.52.24 SB 3.53.62

Ciaran O’Lionaird (IRL) 3.54.76 SB 3.54.76

Garrett Heath (USA) 3.55.24 SB 3.55.24

Will Leer (USA) 3.55.66 SB 3.58.49

Silas Kisorio (KEN) 3.55.84 SB 3.55.84

Zane Robertson (NZL) 3.56.13 SB 3.56.13

Ricky Stevenson (GBR) 3.56.31 SB 3.58.91

Craig Miller (USA) 3.56.41 SB 3.56.41

Jack Bolas (USA) 3.58.31 SB 3.58.31

Ryan Hill (USA) 3.58.33 SB 3.58.33

Paul Robinson (IRL) 3.58.70 SB 3.58.70

John Coghlan (IRL) 3.59.32 SB 3.59.32

John Travers (IRL) 4.04.25

Rory Chesser (IRL) 4.04.38

Feidhlim Kelly (IRL) pace

The Morton Mile is the climax of the Meet with a 9.00 p.m. start on the 25th. The International Programme in the Morton Games opens at 7.15 p.m. Full start lists to be published on on Monday.