Club titles for Sean, Clodagh and Leah

Tonight in very pleasant conditions night 3 of the club Championships took place in Morton Stadium. Sean Doran successfully retained his 5000 club title, there was a 1st the club title for Clodagh Galvin also in the 5000 and yet another club title for Leah Bergin, this time the 400.

The 1st race of the night was the women’s 400 where Leah took the win in, for her, a modest 60.01.Snezana Bechtina was 2nd (60.95) and Anna Heavey 3rd (62.78).

The 5000 was split into 2 separate races, the men’s A race was always going to provide the top 3, there was a very good battle up front featuring the reigning champion Sean Doran and youngster Abdi Ali Maow. Abdi certainly ensured that Sean far from had things his own way and it was really only with 600 to go that Sean broke away coming home in 15.23 with Abdi running a track PB of 15.29. Over a minute in arrears with third-placed Ben Nugent (16.39).

The women’s championship was incorporated into the men’s B race. Again there was a good battle between the lead pair until with 4 laps to go Clodagh Galvin made the telling move shaking off Ciara Peelo to come home in 19.23 with Ciara 19.54 and in 3rd, Maura Matthews (20.19). The race winner of the men’s B race was young Joshua Chalmers.

Full results:

Thanks as always to the officials without whom there will be no championship racing and to the volunteers on the night. The final club championship of the year will be the 10,000, that will take place in the autumn.