Daniel Lacey St. Aidans Athlete of the year

The St. Aidans annual awards night took place in the school tonight. Clonliffe were once again the sponsors of the Athlete of the year award for the Brother Clarke Memorial Cup. All six nominees are Clonliffe Harriers: Sean Boyne, Callum Simpson,  Evan Foster, Dermot Buckley,  Daniel Lacey and Jordan Byrne. The Athlete of the year was Daniel Lacey who received the award from Stephen  Harkness on behalf of the Committee and the night’s special guest of honour, Clonlifffe Atlanta Olympian and Wannamaker Mile winner, Niall Bruton.

Earlier in the evening Niall spoke fondly of his years in St. Aidans from 1984 onwards and of his time with Clonliffe Harriers paying particular tribute to his school and club coach Peter McDermott. Niall also most generously presented his old school with his Olympic Games race number.