Declan Power wins club 5,000m Championship & Grand Prix results

The club championship 5k took place on the track last night, with the track and stadium in great condition following Wednesday nights very successful Morton pre games. With the permission of the club captain, the club championship also doubled as round 9 of the Grand Prix series which was kindly sponsored by Colm Doran.

Thankfully the weather behaved and the race took place on a very pleasant mild summer’s evening, if not a little humid. Another large number of athletes turned out to compete with guests from our neighbouring clubs Raheny and Portmarnock also taking part. Congratulations to Declan Power and Fiona Hayes who are the Men’s and Ladies club champions for 2012. Declan won the men’s race in a time of 16.03 followed by Ernie Ramsey and Darren Reilly with Fiona winning the ladies title.

It was a great night for the Ladies in the Grand Prix, adding to her success as the Ladies club champion, the Grand Prix was also won by Fiona Hayes. Fiona’s rate of improvement has caught the handicapper on the hop, having finished second in the 5 mile, her predicted times were adjusted accordingly. Nonetheless, the hard work in training under coach Maurice Ahern is obviously paying off as she came in 52 seconds ahead of her predicted time. Congratulations to Fiona on a very successful nights running. Fiona was followed in second by Mary Purdue-Smyth and Rachel Wisdom in third.

There are 3 races left to score points in the competition with your best 8 races of the 12 counting.,

Thanks to all the officials on the night, and to Colm Doran for sponsoring the prizes. Thanks also to Caroline Tuite who once again provided the refreshments. The next race is Tuesday 4th September, the Pat Bonass sponsored 10k on the track in Santry again at 8.00

Full results :

1 Declan Power (guest) 0:16:03

2 Ernie Ramsey 0:16:33

3 Darren Reilly 0:16:59

4 Gerard Kirwan 0:17:03

5 Thomas Sherlock 0:17:07

6 Jonathan Bradley (guest) 0:17:11

7 Eoin Murray 0:17:15

8 Brendan O’Brien (guest) 0:17:23

9 Sean Doran 0:17:32

10 Joe Phipps 0:17:35

11 Desie Shorten 0:17:57

12 Fergus Keenan 0:17:58

13 Richard Case 0:17:59

14 Raymond Dunne 0:18:04

15 Dermot Kelly 0:18:11

16 Philip Matthews (guest) 0:18:13

17 Michael McSwiggan (guest) 0:18:43

18 Ivan Eustace 0:18:45

19 Brian o’Sullivan (guest) 0:18:46

20 Shane Casey 0:18:52

21 Brendan Donnelly jnr 0:18:53

22 Maurice McCrohan 0:18:59

23 Brian Quigley (guest) 0:19:02

24 Tom Monks (guest) 0:19:03

25 Alan Worrall 0:19:09

26 Sean Honan (guest) 0:19:10

27 John Curley (Guest) 0:19:24

28 John Frier (guest) 0:19:42

29 Declan Murray 0:19:52

30 Rachel Wisdom 0:20:04

31 Liam Hennessy 0:20:11

32 Jim Keogh (guest) 0:20:13

33 Richie Barr 0:20:24

34 Paul Carolan 0:20:27

35 Colm McDonnell (guest) 0:20:46

36 Pat Healy 0:20:52

37 Pat O’Rourke 0:21:02

38 Pat Devitt 0:21:25

39 Christine MacKenzie (guest) 0:21:29

40 Terry Mee 0:21:41

41 Noel Daly 0:21:57

42 Dave Brady 0:22:26

43 Mary Purdue-Smyth 0:23:01

44 Richard Connolly 0:23:31

45 Padraig Murray 0:24:31

46 Fiona Hayes 0:24:36