In form Ernie Takes Club 10,000M Crown

Ernie Ramsay’s fine form of late continued on the track last night in the Club 10,000M Championship for the Bonass Trophy, the race also incorporating the penultimate round of the 2012 Grand Prix Series. It was a perfect night for distance running and with the stadium lit up by the stadium lights some 40 athletes towed the line for the daunting 25 laps of the track (as always happens however in this affair dizziness meant that some athletes miscounted their laps, it is however pleasing to report that whilst a few athletes did one lap less than the requisite number, thankfully no-one did one lap more!!) As expected in the light of his current form Ernie Ramsay justified his pre-race favourite tag taking up the running from the off to finish the race a comfortable winner by almost 2 minutes, running a time of 34.29 from Tom Sherlock 2nd at 34.19, with Eoin Murray coming in 3rd at 36.22. It was particularly pleasing to see the return to action of Mark Bermingham, running a very strong race and only being overhauled by Tom and Eoin on the final lap as Mark ran his first race since last May.

The first lady in the Women’s 10,000 Championship was Emma Dunne (44.35).

In the Grand Prix Handicap, 1st was Liam Hennessy, 2nd Fergie Keenan and 3rd Shane Casey.

Many thanks to Pat Bonass, the sponsor of the 10,000M, who  a was also making a welcomed return to HQ.

The final race of the 2012 Grand Prix Series is the Ahern Cup for the Club 10 Mile Championship in Malahide the 6th of October at 12.00 noon. Race officials are Joe Phipps, Dave Brady, Steven Byrne and Tom Sherlock.

The Grand Prix presentation night will be held in the club bar on Thursday the 11th of October. That night will also see the McDonald Cup take place, which is a 4 mile track race at 8.00 p.m. All welcome to take part, guests are of course particularly welcome.

Club 2012 10,000m C`ships Results:

Position  Name    Time

1 Ernie Ramsey 0:34:29

2 Thomas Sherlock 0:36:19

3 Eoin Murray 0:36:22

4 Mark Bermingham 0:36:33

5 Sean Doran 0:37:03

6 Joe Phipps 0:37:16

7 Fergus Keenan 0:37:43

8 Clive Ahern 0:37:46

9 Dermot Kelly 0:38:02

10 Dave Corcorcan (guest) 0:38:04

11 Philip O’Doherty 0:38:27

12 Shane Casey 0:38:58

13 Ivan Eustace 0:39:09

14 Hans De Raeymaeker 0:39:30

15 Dave Dunwoody 0:39:39

16 Tom Monks (guest) 0:40:05

17 Paul Conroy (guest) 0:40:34

18 Alan Worrall 0:41:24

19 Colm McDonnell (guest) 0:41:29

20 Pat Healy 0:41:31

21 Colm Breen 0:41:36

22 Liam Hennessy 0:41:38

23 Shay Byrne 0:42:29

24 Declan Murray 0:42:52

25 Emma Dunne 0:44:35

26 Pat O’Rourke 0:44:59

27 D Lyons (Guest) 0:44:59

28 Pat Devitt 0:45:04

29 F McCarthy (Guest) 0:45:22

30 Sinead Duffy 0:45:35

31 Aine McCann 0:46:12

32 Fiona Hayes 0:48:21

33 Richard Connolly

34 Fran Meehan (Guest)