Grand Prix News: the big Finale on Saturday

The 2017 Grand Prix Series reaches its finale this Saturday November 25th with the final round the Horan Cup. With current weather conditions it looks like it`ll be a Mudfest! Saturday’s race, over 6 gruelling miles with a 12.00 noon start, brings an intriguing and most exciting 2017 Grand Prix Series to a conclusion. There are still three athletes in contention with current series leader Emma Dunne in the driving seat on a total of 312 points from Declan Grant 304 and still (just about) in the running Mick Bermingham on 294.  The winner will come from one of these three with of course an athletes ten best scores from the 16 rounds to count (the current leaderboard showing the latest standings can be accessed on the Grand Prix series page)

The Horan Cup itself is one of the oldest Clonliffe Harriers club cups and is now 109 years old. The very first Horan Cup was held back in 1908, a six mile handicap race, which the records state was won by one H. Mullally in a time of 38.09.  The winner of the handicap that year was a Mr. T. Hassell.  The Horan Cup was presented to the club by the club’s then vice President Michael Horan.

The last round of the Grand Prix Series was the Irwin Cup sponsored by George Maybury. The result of the handicap was 1st Siobhan Devanney, 2nd Yvonne McDonagh, 3rd Aimee Ahern. That race also doubled as the Clonliffe Club Cross Country Championships. Regrettably there was some confusion as regards the course and the lead four went astray.  The result of the Men’s Club Cross Country Championship for 2017, for the Harry Cooney Cup is confirmed:

1st Philip O’Doherty, 2nd Murray Ahern, 3rd Paul O’Loughlin

The winner of the Women’s Cross Country Championship, for the Fred Connolly Trophy was 1st Siobhan Devanney, 2nd Emma Dunne, 3rd Aimee Ahern.

Back to next Saturday, the winner of the Horan Cup will not be announced following Saturday’s race but that will be held off until the Grand Prix presentation night on Thursday December 7th when all will be revealed. Presentations of the Horan Cup, Irwin Cup and Ahern Cup will be made in addition to the overall 2017 Grand Prix Series prize winners and the presentation of the Behan & Associates sponsored Grand Prix Series Cup to the overall winner.

Also in advance of the presentation on December 7th there will be a 3000 metre race held on the track – just for the purpose of working up an appetite and possibly a bit of a thirst.

The very best of luck on Saturday to Emma, Declan and Mick – may the best Harrier prevail!