Great night in store at Clonliffe Awards Night

The Clonliffe Athletes of the Year Awards Night, sponsored by Loki Sports, takes place on Thursday of next week the 13th of December from 9 p.m. In addition to the presentation of awards to the successful athletes including of course the prestigious Clonliffe Harrier of the year award, the club are planning a night of celebration. Amongst those who will be honoured on the night will be Clonliffe Olympians Mark Kenneally and Alistair Cragg and also James Nolan for his outstanding contribution as manager of the Irish Paralympian athletics team in London.

The nominees for awards on the night are:

Junior Athlete of the Year: Aaron Hanlon, Ian Guiden, Ryan Cleary

Master Athlete of the Year: George Maybury, Geraldine Reilly, Phillip O’Doherty

Women’s Track and Field Athlete of the Year: Eleanor Alexander, Leah Moore, Sarah McCormack

Men’s Track and Field Athlete of the Year: Brian Gregan, David Donegan, Thomas Rauktys

Women’s Road/Cross Country Athlete of the Year: Ailish Malone, Becky Woods, Sarah McCormack

Men’s Road/Cross Country Athlete of the Year: Gary O’Hanlon, Mark Kenneally, Sergiu Ciobanu

The club will also celebrate the numerous other athletic achievements of our athletes throughout 2012 including those athletes who set club records, throughout 2012 there were no less than fourteen new club records set, the most prolific record breakers being Brian Gregan, Caoimhe Morris and Matt Field all of whom set new marks on no less than three occasions between June and August.

Clonliffe Harriers also cordially invite all members of the club who assisted in the successful promotion and running of the various road, cross country and track and field events throughout the course of the year, as thank you for the sterling work which was put in by all the President of Clonliffe Harriers Paddy Marley invites you all to the clubhouse for some hot food and a beverage or two.

Proceedings will get underway at 9 p.m.