IAAF World Cross-Country Championship Teams

Congratulations to Killian Lonergan on his selection to the Irish Team for the 32nd IAAF World Cross-Country Championships in Brussels, Belgium on March 20-21. Killian ran a fantastic race and was 5th in the recent National Senior Long-Course Championships and it is from this and The Junior Championships that the teams were selected.

Also runing for Ireland is the South-African born Alistair Cragg as an individual in the short-course event. Cragg recently broke Frank O’Mara’s 3000m record with 7:38.59 and is set to be a decent challenge to the Kenyans and Ethiopians.
Unfortunately for the Womens Team, they will be without Sonia O’Sullivan as she is out with shin-splints and Maria McCambridge (DSD) as she will be concentrating on the World Indoors. They will have the back-on-form Catherina McKiernan and the second-placed Rosemary Ryan.

The Long-course teams:
Mens Senior team
Seamus Power (Kilmurray/Brickane)
Dermot Donnelly (Annadale Striders)
Peter Mathews (DSD)
Mark Kenneally (Raheny Shamrocks)
Killian Lonergan (Clonliffe Harriers)
Vincent Mulvey (Raheny Shamrocks)

Womens Senior Team
Catherina McKiernan (Annalee)
Rosemary Ryan (Bilboa)
Jolene Byrne (Donore)
Pauline Curley (Tullamore)
Fionnuala Britton (Sli Cualann)
Niamh O’Sullivan (An Riocht)

Junior Men
Mark Christie (Mullingar)
Andrew Ledwidth (Fr. Murphy)

Junior Women
Azmera Gebrezgi (Celtic)
Linda Byrne (DSD)