Jean Dunne wins the O’Connor Cup

The Grand Prix made a welcome return to Santry Sports Ground for the fifth race in the current Grand Prix Series on Thursday evening 6th June 2024. In reasonably pleasant conditions all 57 runners completed a continental style grass course.  

Sean Doran first man home

Peter McDermott started the runners on the 6 laps and 300 meter course. Sean Doran took off at a blistering pace which he maintained throughout to finish in a time of 21.18. In second place was Coolock AC’s Anthony Brady in 23.15. In third place was Niall Sherlock in 23.51. 

Blanaid Pattan first women home

In a very competitive women’s race Blanaid Patten (Guest) completed the course in 28.11. In second place was Siobhan Devaney in 28.26 and in third place was Maura Matthews in 28.38. 

Jean Dunne wins O’Connor Cup

In the Grand Prix competition first place went to the ever popular Raheny athlete Jean Dunne. In second place was Dervla Coyle and in third place was James Dunne. Congratulations to all three.  A prize giving took place in the Clonliffe Club house after the race. Jean Dunne was presented with the O’Connor Cup. While checking the previous winners on the trophy Jean discovered that her late Dad Christy Brady, an outstanding Clonliffe Captain, also won the same O’Connor Cup many years previously. 

Race Sponsor – David O’Sullivan

The Grand Prix Committee would like to thank David O’Sullivan our race sponsor for the year’s O’Connor Cup. Congratulation to all the officials for preparing the course, officiating on the night and providing post-race refreshments. A special word of thanks to young Dylan Tanner who videoed the race. Finally thanks to all  the staff of Trinity Sports Ground for facilitating the race. 

Results of O’Connor Cup:

Photos by Peter Bissett:

Grand Prix Points Table

The top ten athletes after four races are as follows:

PlaceFirst NameSurnamePoints
7Peter Bissett164

Once the points for the latest race are allocated the Grand Committee will post the  GP Points Table for the first five races on the Clonliffe web site.  

Next Series of Races

The Grand Prix Committee will post details of the next Series of races shortly.