Sara McCormack honoured on the double at Athletics Awards

Congratulations to Clonliffe’s Sara McCormack whose achievements were recognised by Athletics Ireland at the annual athletes of the year awards ceremony at a luncheon held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Dublin today.

Sara was a member of the Irish Women’s team that won the European Cross Country in Budapest on December 9th and the team were recognised by being awarded the team of the year award. The full team was Fionnuala Britton (Kilcoole A.C.), Linda Byrne (DSD), Ava Hutchinson (DSD), Lizzie Lee (Leavale A.C.), Sarah Treacy (Moynalvey) and Sara.

In the category of mountain runner of the year Sara along with her team-mates Kate Cronin (Raheny), Sarah Mulligan (DSD) and Sharon Trimble (North Belfast Harriers) were jointly awarded mountain runner of the year as a consequence of that Irish team winning bronze at the World Mountain Running Championships in Poland.