St. Dominics Cabra prove to be best at Brother Schools XC

The weather gods served up a real mixed bag for today’s 9th Brother Schools Cross Country at Santry Demesne.  The course builders endured rain all morning, however, by the time the event started the conditions had picked up considerably leading to a very pleasant, sunny, autumnal day.  An hour or so later, however, the rain came down again turning wintery but by the time the senior boys race took place the park was once again bathed in beautiful autumnal sunshine.

The turnout for this fixture was once again extraordinary some 1,800 or so young athletes with bumper fields in the primary school races and the younger age groups of the secondary schools in particular.

Proceedings got underway at 12 noon sharp with a field of some 200 fifth class girls in the primary schools race. It was a tremendous spectacle to see so many young athletes compete in what has become one of the essential races on the schools cross country calendar.  The winner of the 5th class primary school race was Grace Prenter and in the team race a dominant St. Fiachra’s finished top of the pile on 58 points from Mary Help of Christians 63 and Mount Anville on 65.

Next race up was the 5th class boys race again a huge field, there was over 250 starters in this race led home much to the delight of his teammates by Keane O’Neill of Star of the Sea. At the presentation the chants of Keano, Keano reverberated around the park.  Michael Riordan of St. Fiachra’s was 2nd leading Fiachra’s to another win on 28 points ahead of Star of the Sea on 36 and Howth Primary School on 55.

The primary school 6th class girls also raced over 1000 metres, again a huge field of some 200 starters. The winner was Mount Anville’s Anna Kearney as she led her school to victory on 32 points.

The 6th class primary school boys again St. Fiachra’s were the dominant force as they produced a one two from Harry Page and Alex Sheridan, it was no surprise to see Fiachra’s again top the charts in the team race on 32 points from John Bosco on 63 and St. Michael’s on 66. The teachers at St. Fiachra`s are clearly doing fantastic work on the athletics front, with the school winning 3 of the 4 primary races.

With the primary school programme completed the action moved on to the secondary schools with the minor girls. This was again a huge field of some 200 athletes again running the 1000m loop. The huge field was led home by Sophie Quinn (Mount Sackville) as she led her team to victory on 36 points ahead of Our Lady’s College 48 and Dominicans College 61.

Next up it was the minor boys where the stampede was led home by T. McClone (Willow Park). The team champions were our Newry visitors, Colman’s College on 36 points from Ard Scoil Ris 56 and Willow Park on 64.

The junior girls were next up running over the bigger loop which took in the dreaded garden wall. The winner of this race was Sadbh Mohan from Eimear Maher and Saoirse Ni Bhriain.  The team race was won by St. Dominic’s of Cabra on 40 points from Mount Sackville 71 and Muckross Park on 73 points.

Next up racing over 2000m, two of the smaller laps, was the junior boys. Local club St. Aidan’s were top of the pile on 39 points from St. Malachy’s of Belfast on 42 points and Colman’s College Newry on 51.  Race winner was Morgan Clarkeson (Col. Eoin).

The inter girls also raced over 2000m. Clocking up their second team win of the day were St. Dominic’s Cabra on 32 points.  The race was led home by Roisin Tracey (St. Gerard’s).

On then to the inter boys race where once again it was a keenly fought affair won by Sean Donoghue (St. Declan’s) from John Fanning of Belvedere and Michael McCaul (Colman’s). Colaiste Eoin won the team title on 42 points from St. Malachy’s on 51.

Then to the senior girls race which was led home in emphatic style by Abbey Taylor (Westley College) from Ailish Murtagh (Holy Faith) and Lucy Barret in 3rd place.  St. Dominic’s took their 3rd team race of the day.

The final race was the 4500m senior boys race, three laps of the demesne. A breakaway group of seven or eight was soon whittled down to three and on the sprint for the line St. Malachy’s Conall McClean proved fastest just clipping Efran Gidey in 2nd place and Eoin O’Dwyer (Belvedere) 3rd.  Malachy’s won the team race on 40 points from St. Aidan’s on 80 and Belvedere on 87.

Brother Schools X.C. Results

Primary Schools

Girls 5th Class

1 Grace Prenter

2 Caoimhe Keegan (San Carlo)

3 Saoirse O’Connor


1 St. Fiachra’s – 58 points

2 Mary Help of Christians – 63 points

3 Mount Anville – 65 points

6th Class Primary Girls

1 Anna Kearney (Mount Anville)

2 Hannah O’Brien (Carysfort)

3 Clodagh Ryan (Mary Help of Christians)


1 Mount Anville – 32 points

2 Carysfort – 51 points

2 Vincent de Paul – 61 points

Boys Primary

5th Class Primary Boys

1 Cian O’Neill (Star of the Sea)

2 Michael Redmond (St. Fiachra’s)

3 Geordy Lavin (Willow Park)


1 St. Fiachra’s – 28 points

2 Star of the Sea – 36 points

3 Howth Primary School – 55 points

6th Class Boys

1 Harry Page (St. Fiachra’s)

2 Alex Sheridan (St. Fiachra’s)

3 Jack Joyce (St. Brigid’s BNS)


1 St. Fiachra’s – 32 points

2 John Bosco – 63 points

3 St. Michael’s – 66 points


Secondary School Boys


1 J. McClone (Willow Park)

2 Michael O’Rave (Ard Scoil Ris)

3 James Dalton (Belvedere)


1 Colman’s College – 36 points

2 Ard Scoil Ris – 56 points

3 St. Aidans – 64 points

Junior Boys

1 Morgan Clarkeson (Col. Eoin)

2 Matthew Lavery (St. Malachy’s)

3 Adam Condon (Ard Scoil Ris)


1 St. Aidan’s – 39 points

2 St. Malachy’s – 42 points

3 Colman’s College – 51 points

Inter Boys

1 Sean Donoghue (St. Declan’s)

2 John Fanning (Belvedere)

3 Michael McCaul (Colman’s)


1 Col. Eoin – 42 points

2 St. Malachy’s – 51 points

3 Colman’s College – 66 points


1 Conall McClean (St. Malachy’s)

2 Efren Gidey

3 Eoin O’Dwyer (Belvedere)


1 St. Malachy’s – 40 points

2 St. Aidan’s – 80 points

3 Belvedere – 87 points

Best boys secondary: St. Malachys

Secondary School Girls:

Minor Girls

1 Sophie Quinn (Mount Sackville)

2 Louise O’Riordan (St. Gerard’s)

3 Kate O’Connor (Mount Sackville)


1 Mount Sackville – 36 points

2 Our Lady’s College – 48 points

3 Dominican College – 61 points

Junior Girls

1 Sadbh Mohan

2 Eimear Maher

3 Saoirse Ni Bhriain


1 St. Dominic’s – 40 points

2 Mount Sackville – 71 points

3 Muckross Park – 73 points

Inter Girls

1 Roisin Tracey (St. Gerard’s)

2 Dora Meadgy (St. Dominic’s)

3 Jana Cid (Sutton Park)


1 St. Dominic’s – 32 points

2 Loreto on the Green – 47 points

3 Dominican College – 78 points


1 Abbey Taylor (Wesley College)

2 Ailish Murtagh (Holy Faith)

3 Lucy Barrett


1 St. Dominic’s – 52 points

Best Girl’s Secondary School – St. Dominic’s.

Best overall secondary school and winners of Lar Byrne Shield – St. Dominic’s Cabra.

Clonliffe Harriers would like to thank sincerely our sponsor Brother for their support of this wonderful event. St. John’s Ambulance for their assistance on the day and all the member of Clonliffe Harriers who volunteered and spent a long day in Santry Demesne. We would also like to thank the schools for their continued support.

To view photographs click here