Power strikes again in club 10,000 championship

Last night was a perfect night for a track race. The late summer/autumnal sunshine was replaced by a mild twilight evening as the club 10,000m championship for the Bonass Trophy was held under lights in the Morton Stadium. The club 10,000 is incorporated into the Clonliffe Grand Prix Series and drew another big field. There were in excess of  30 starters, a very good turnout for the daunting 25 lapper.

Declan Power was the victor and crowned 2014 Club 10,000m Champion for probably the third or fourth time in recent years as he recorded an impressive time of 33.07. Some way in arrears was 2nd place finisher Ernie Ramsey in 34.54 with the ever improving Sean Doran 3rd (35.06). The Clonliffe ladies 10,000m champion was Rachel Wisdom recording a time of 39.72 with Sinead Duffy 2nd in 44.22.

In the Grand Prix Sinead Duffy was the athlete to beat the handicapper and take maximum points from 2nd place Robert Beckett and 3rd Conor Jennings.

An impressive strike rate saw 29 of the 34 starters finish. Pride of place went to Donore`s Jim McNamara who set a new Irish Masters O/75 record of 44.58.2.

Thanks to the race sponsor Pat Bonass, sponsoring this race on the night for the 29th year, Caroline Tuite (yet again) for post race refreshments and to the hard working race officials (a tough gig!)

Jim mc

(pictured): Jim McNamara and Pat Bonass


Declan Power 00:33:07
Ernie Ramsey 00:34:54
Sean Doran 00:35:06
Tom Sherlock 00:35:39
Desie Shorten 00:36:55
Shane Casey 00:39:18
Paddy Tuite 00:39:21
Anthony O`Brien 00:39:25
Rachel Wisdom 00:39:27
Tom Monks 00:39:39
Robert Beckett 00:39:40
Colm McDonnell 00:39:54
Ronan McDermott 00:39:59
Declan Robinson 00:40:39
Denis Collins 00:41:05
Alex Eustace 00:41:21
Pat Byrne 00:41:26
Richie Barr 00:43:59
Sinead Duffy 00:44:22
Frank McCarthy 00:44:36
Mary Harte 00:44:49
Jim McNamara 00:44:58
Liam Hennessy 00:45:44
Terry Mee 00:45:58
Conor Jennings 00:46:43
Fran Meehan 00:46:51
Shay Byrne 00:47:05
Pat Devitt

Dave Brady



The next round of the Grand Prix series is also a club championship – the 50th anniversary of the Clonliffe 10 Mile Championship for the Ahern Cup which will take place at 12 noon in Malahide Castle on Saturday October 4th. With a number of the leaders missing last night`s race there are major changes in the race for yellow Richard Case now leads on 290, chased hard by Tom Sherlock 283. The 10 Mile will no doubt shake things up even more.


Richard Case 290
Thomas Sherlock 283
Dermot  Kelly 281
Shane Casey 275
Sinead Smith 257